South Valley Middle School

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

 

January Athletics Update

Hello North & South Valley Middle School families!


Hope everyone is healthy and focusing on the beginning of 2nd semester in a highly productive manner. Online school can be frustrating and not ideal, but hopefully with the start of the New Year and the start of athletics, some normality can begin.


We have a few updates and changes about our middle school athletic seasons for the 2021 seasons. 


We would like to give the opportunity for open gyms for Wrestling and Volleyball beginning Wednesday January 13 from 3:40-5:30. 7th grade Volleyball will be at North Valley.  Wrestling and 8th grade Volleyball will be at South Valley. MASKS MUST BE WORN. All athletes must complete the sports packets to participate in all open gyms as well as regular season.  


Transportation is provided during the season to the schools. 

The first official day of practice is January 19th. From 3:40-5:30

7th grade Volleyball will be at North Valley

8th grade Volleyball and Wrestling (6th,7th & 8th) will be at South Valley.


As of today, there are still restrictions on participant numbers for the sports as well as spectators at events. These change regularly and we will try and communicate those as we can throughout the seasons.  


Please make sure to have your VMS Registration Form, Physical (RE1 form, signed by a doctor) and VMS Training Rules turned in before the seasons start.  We will be happy to begin collecting them as soon as you have them. They are available online as well as at the schools.


Welcome back!!  Stay strong Vikings!


Thanks for your time!!

Steve Kissler - North Valley AD

Tia Morenz - South Valley AD


Spring Virtual P/T Conferences

SVMS Spring P/T Conferences will be from 8:30 AM - 3:30 PM on Monday, February 22nd.  More info to come!


December Athletics Update

Hello North & South Valley Middle School families!


Hope everyone is healthy and focusing on finishing the 1st semester in a highly productive manner.  Online school can be frustrating and not ideal, but we must finish strong!


We have a few updates and changes about our middle school athletic seasons for the 2021 seasons. Earlier this week (Dec 7) CHSAA and government health officials made several changes to the high school seasons.  These changes are reflected on our middle school schedules as well. 


The Northern Plains Middle Level Association continues to work for all of our athletic teams and are committed to giving all athletes an opportunity to play every sport we normally provide in a typical school year. Below is the schedule of seasons we are planning to play after we return from Winter Break. Here is the UPDATED breakdown as of December 2020.



Season

Sport

Start Date

End Date

B

Volleyball

1/19

2/19

B

Wrestling

1/19

2/19

C

Boys BB

2/8

3/12

D

Girls BB

3/15

4/16

D

Football

3/15

4/23

D

Swimming

TBA

TBA

E

Track

4/19

5/21






Few points to consider:

  1. These seasons are fluid and all seasons may change again in January according to COVID restrictions.

  2. Volleyball (now season B) and girls basketball (now season D) have been switched to help with scheduling officials. 

  3. Since we are now trying to put 4 seasons in a 4 month stretch, seasons are going to be much shorter than normal and practice times will be less. However, all seasons should be available and athletes will not have to choose one sport over another.

  4. More specific sport schedules and practice locations are still currently being worked on by the athletic directors and will be out soon.

  5. No open gyms/workouts are allowed in December.  We are hoping that in January we will be allowed to conduct open/gyms before seasons officially start. 

  6. We may have possible restrictions on the number or participants for each sport.  (Possible cuts)

  7. Indoor and outdoor restrictions may be placed on attendance to games.  Which means it is possible that no or limited spectators will be allowed at home or away events. 

  8. The NPMLA is looking into the possibility of broadcasting/steaming games if attendance is not allowed.

  9. Masks must be worn during athletic events for athletes and spectators. (Subject to change with Covid cases.)


To prepare for these seasons, please make sure to have your VMS Registration Form, Physical (RE1 form, signed by a doctor) and VMS Training Rules turned in before the seasons start.  We will be happy to begin collecting them as soon as you have them. Paperwork is attached if you still need them. 


Hope you and your family have a wonderful holiday season!  Stay strong Vikings!


Thanks for your time!!

Steve Kissler - North Valley AD

Tia Morenz - South Valley AD


Remote Learning Update

We plan to return to in-person learning two weeks after Winter Break on January 19, 2021, if the number of cases decrease to a safe level.

SVMS Remote Learning Plan


REMOTE-ONLY SCHEDULE:
  • Student online contact time will be 8:00 AM to 3:00 PM, Tuesday - Friday.

    • All students must login to Infinite Campus to mark themselves present each day.

  • Students are required to log onto each of their classes in the morning (see schedule) and complete work in the afternoon.

    • Students will login to each of their classes through the Google Meets link in the top left hand corner located in their Google Classroom page.

  • Teachers will follow the same schedule as before, including online support hours.

  • Students will have the same schedule as their in-person days, but with modified times:

Period

Times

1st

8:00 - 8:30 AM

2nd

8:40 - 9:10 AM

3rd

9:20 - 9:50 AM

4th

10:00 - 10:30 AM

5th

10:40 - 11:10 AM

6th

11:20 - 11:50 AM

7th

12:00 - 12:30 PM

Lunch

12:30 - 1:00 PM

Student Work Time

1:00 - 2:00 PM

Assessment Time/Student Work Time

2:00 - 3:00 PM



ATTENDANCE:

  • Attendance will be taken by every teacher, each period.

  • If a student does not check in with their teacher each period, they will be counted as absent.


GRADING:

  • All assignments and tests will be graded as normal.

  • Eligibility rules for athletics will remain the same.


ASSESSMENT:

  • There is a designated assessment time in the afternoon to be used for assessments, as needed.

  • This designated time may also be used for other instructional purposes and to complete work.


PREVIOUSLY REMOTE ONLY STUDENTS:

  • All students who were previously enrolled in fully remote learning, will continue with their previous schedule.


TECH SUPPORT:

  • If you are having any tech issues, put in a support ticket to the district tech team through email: support@wcsdre1.org

  • If you can not access the internet and/or get logged into your chromebook, contact the school immediately at 970-350-4201 ext. 4.



SVMS

Online Support Resources

  • Please note: Teachers are available to all online students to support them at any grade level, in their content area.  However, teachers do have areas of grade-level focus where they will be more knowledgeable.

ELA (Reading & Writing)

Teacher

Class

Support Hours

Contact Information

Mrs. Bullington

SVMS ELA (6th)

10:50 - 11:41 AM

bullingtonr@wcsdre1.org

Mr. Aguirre

SVMS ELA (7th)

8:08 - 8:59 AM

1:08 - 1:59 PM

aguirreb@wcsdre1.org

Mr. Wolfe

SVMS ELA (8th)

9:02 - 9:53 AM

wolfec@wcsdre1.org

Mrs. Sedinger

NVMS ELA (6th)

1:17 -2:07 PM

sedingerh@wcsdre1.org

Mr. Schnellinger

NVMS ELA (7th)

2:10 - 3:00 PM

schnellingerm@wcsdre1.org

Mrs. George

NVMS ELA (8th)

9:51 - 10:42 AM

8:57 - 9:48 AM (Wed. & Fri.)

georgem@wcsdre1.org



Math

Teacher

Class

Support Hours

Contact Information

Ms. Castillo

SVMS Math (6th/7th)

9:56 - 10:47 AM

castillok@wcsdre1.org

Mrs. Hough

SVMS Math (7th/8th)

9:02 - 9:53 AM

houghl@wcsdre1.org 

Ms. Medford

NVMS Math (6th)

1:17 - 2:07 PM

medfordj@wcsdre1.org

Mrs. Mulder

NVMS Math (7th)

9:51 - 10:42 AM

mulderl@wcsdre1.org

Mr. Thorgesen

NVMS Math (8th)

9:51 - 10:42 AM

8:00 - 8:54 AM (Tues. & Thur.)

thorgesenl@wcsdre1.org



Science

Teacher

Class

Support Hours

Contact Information

Mrs. Munson

SVMS Science (6th/7th)

12:14 - 1:05 PM

munsond@wcsdre1.org 

Mrs. Watson

SVMS Science (7th/8th)

Wed - Fri: 10:50 - 11:41 AM

Wed - Fri: 1:08 - 1:59 PM

watsonp@wcsdre1.org

Ms. Wilson

NVMS Science (6th)

1:17 - 2:07 PM

wilsonb@wcsdre1.org

Mrs. Kain

NVMS Science (7th)

8:57 - 9:48 AM

kainm@wcsdre1.org

Mr. Stanford

NVMS Science (8th)

1:17 - 2:07 PM

8:57 - 9:48 AM (Tues. & Thur.)

stanfordd@wcsdre1.org



Social Studies

Teacher

Class

Support Hours

Contact Information

Ms. Miller

SVMS Social Studies (6th/7th)

8:08 - 8:59 AM

1:08 - 1:59 PM

millert@wcsdre1.org

Mrs. Kern

SVMS Social Studies (7th/8th)

8:08 - 8:59 AM

oxfordj@wcsdre1.org

Ms. Wilson

NVMS Social Studies  (6th)

1:17 - 2:07 PM

wilsonb@wcsdre1.org

Mr. Bauer

NVMS Social Studies (7th)

8:00 - 8:54 AM

bauerb@wcsdre1.org 

Mr. Sencenbaugh

NVMS Social Studies (8th)

8:00 - 8:54 AM

sencenbaughr@wcsdre1.org




Specialists

Teacher

Class

Support Hours

Contact Information

Mrs. Adolf

SVMS Resource

9:02 - 9:53 AM

2:02 - 2:53 PM

2:58 - 3:20 PM

adolfk@wcsdre1.org

Mrs. Luark

SVMS ELL

8:08 - 8:59 AM

10:50 - 11:41 AM

2:58 - 3:20 PM

luarkdSend to: luarkd@wcsdre1.org@wcsdre1.org 

Mrs. Seelhoff

SVMS Reading Intervention

2:58 - 3:20 PM

seelhoffk@wcsdre1.org 

Mrs. Brecheisen

NVMS Resource

9:51 - 10:42 AM

12:24 - 1:14 PM

brecheisenk@wcsdre1.org 

Mrs. Flesner

NVMS Reading Intervention

8:57 - 9:48 AM (Tues. & Thur.)

flesnerh@wcsdre1.org 


Electives

Teacher

Class

Support Hours

Contact Information

Coach Tia

SVMS P.E./Health

2:58 - 3:20 PM

morenzt@wcsdre1.org 

Ms. Melomo

SVMS 

Art/Outdoor Ed/Aviation

2:58 - 3:20 PM

melomoh@wcsdre1.org 

Mr. Goff

SVMS Band/Choir

2:58 - 3:20 PM

goffb@wcsdre1.org 

Mrs. Lantz

NVMS 

Art/Graphic Design

9:51 - 10:42 AM (Wed. & Fri.)

2:10 - 3:00 PM (Tues. & Thur.)

lantzt@wcsdre1.org 

Coach Ruff

NVMS P.E.

1:17 - 2:07 PM (Tues. & Thur.)

ruffc@wcsdre1.org 

Mr. Grimes

NVMS Band/Choir

8:57 - 9:48 AM (Wed. & Fri.)

1:17- 2:07 PM (Wed. & Fri.)

roylep@wcsdre1.org 

SVMS Vikings 2020-2021

SVMS Mission

We are committed to providing a safe, positive, growth-oriented environment in which all students experience academic, intellectual, and social success as they prepare for the challenges of the 21st century.

 

SVMS Vision

Our vision at SVMS is to provide students with the foundational work ethic, social skills, academic mastery, and creativity needed to become lifelong learners, community leaders, and productive, responsible citizens.

 

 

SVMS Belief Statements

 1.  SVMS believes that every child needs a relationship with an adult.

2. SVMS believes that all students need to be respectful and be respected.

3. SVMS believes that every child has the opportunity to learn differently.

4. SVMS believes that every adult and every child should be held accountable for their actions.

5. SVMS believes that every child deserves to learn in positive and safe environment.

District Newsletters

Calendar

2020-2021
English & Spanish

Upcoming Events

Supply LIst

School Supply List

Gilcrest Elementary School
North Valley Middle School
Pete Mirich Elementary School
Platteville Elementary School
South Valley Middle School
Valley High School
South Valley Middle School
1004 Main Street Platteville, Co 80651 | Phone: (970) 350-4201 | Fax:

© 2021. Weld County School District RE-1. All Rights Reserved. School CMS Created by eSchoolView
View text-based website